Success Won’t Wait Volunteer Ashley Rose McNeill Wins Jefferson Award for Public Service

medallion_smAshley McNeill, a 17-year old high school junior at Cab Calloway School of the Arts in Wilmington, Delaware was recently honored for her efforts through Success Won’t Wait programs to eradicate illiteracy with the Jefferson Award for Youth Service, Student Leader Award. The initiative is also sponsored by Deliotte.

The Jefferson Awards were created in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Senator Robert Taft, Jr., and Sam Beard to establish a “Nobel Prize for public and community service.” The Jefferson Awards are presented annually on two levels: national and local. National award recipients represent a “Who’s Who” of outstanding Americans. On the local level, Jefferson Awards recipients are ordinary people who do extraordinary things without expectation of recognition or reward.

Founded in 2002, Success Won’t Wait, Inc. is a 501c3 non-profit literacy organization based in Wilmington, Delaware. Want to learn more about Success Won’t Wait’s literacy projects, how to donate used books in Delaware, or volunteer your time? Click on the About Us tab to learn more.

Read now, because success won’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s